Applications for the Content Design Leadership Program are open! Apply now for the March cohort.

Create names that work for users and your team

Workshop:
Naming Product Features & Elements

In this 4-hour online workshop, you’ll work in Miro while learning how to think about naming elements, how to decide and finalize, and how to workshop new element names with your team.

Price: US $400

Payment plans available, including Affirm.

Affirm
UX Professional Sitting on the Chair with Cat
“Julia is so knowledgeable. All the examples she provided are super fun. Exercises and time allocated are perfectly right.”
Cara Lam
Content Designer, Instagram
“Even though the topic can be advanced, this session will absolutely suit beginners as well. I also loved the friendly atmosphere!”
Kristiina Kallasmaa
Content Design Manager, Pipedrive

Sign up one person or a whole team

Wednesday, May 1

3:00 pm to 7:00 pm PDT (San Francisco)

5:00 pm to 9:00 pm CDT ( Chicago)

6:00 pm to 10:00 pm EDT (New York)

Thursday, May 2

7:00 am to 11 am JST (Tokyo)

8:00 am to 12:00 pm AEST (Sydney)

Get notified when new sessions are added.

Why take the Naming Product Features workshop?

coaching-pfhxe99cbc1xv83baidrrbi238qq58jigccnivp9om (2)

You’ll learn how to...

  • Understand naming requirements thoroughly
  • Brainstorm creative options for elements and features
  • Weigh pros and cons to reach a consensus with your team
  • Reach clarity about when—and if—your product feature or element needs a name at all

You’ll leave with...

  • A process and framework for naming that you’ll use again and again
  • Confidence in your ability to decide what’s best for your product
  • Success criteria for assessing product element names
  • Knowledge in leading a naming workshop of your own
UX Writing Newsletters

Get to know your instructor

Julia Steffan

Julia Steffen​

Julia has 10+ years’ experience making words do the hard work. She conducts research, writes jargon-free copy, and tests (then come the high fives!). She’s an expert in:

  • High-level strategy, word-level execution, multi-disciplinary collaboration
  • Style guides, end-to-end product content, taxonomy & IA

Julia is published in The New Yorker and McSweeney’s.

Details for your session

Workshop format

The workshop includes 2 hours of instruction and exercises. It’s a pretty typical format, with lectures followed by breakout practice sessions.

At the end of the workshop, we’ll go through your practice work to share learnings and insights. The instructor will provide feedback and answer any questions you might have about anything we covered.

If you have more questions about workshops from UX Content Collective, please reach out to info@uxcontent.com.

Requirements

Before the session, participants should create a free Miro account. You’ll also need:

  • A computer with the latest version of Chrome
  • A broadband internet connection
  • Fluent English reading and writing proficiency
  • Some familiarity with UX writing and methods
  • A quiet space and a creative mind!

Interested in training a team of 10 or more? Get in touch. We’d love to help.

If your team is fewer than 10 people, you can sign up for one of the sessions listed. If you’d like to schedule on a specific day and time for a larger team of 10 or more, we can arrange that! Reach out and let us know what you need.

Comments are closed

Download the syllabus & get notified of new workshop dates!

Every time we add a new session for Naming Product Features & Elements, we’ll notify you straight away.

working.png

Free! Get our exclusive report: the future of AI and content design

Over 125 content designers reveal how they use language models, their thoughts on the future of the industry, and more…

We’ll also send you news, discounts, job listings, and more